Short Track Super Series

  • 1


STSS Fonda Race Day: Firecracker 50 Storylines, Stars & Sleepers


Short Track Super Series

STSS Fonda Race Day: Firecracker 50 Storylines, Stars & Sleepers

Written by Chris Moore

FONDA, NY – Firecracker Race Day!

The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco celebrates Independence Day tonight at Fonda Speedway.

The Track of Champions hosts a 50-lap, $10,000-to-win affair for the STSS big-block/small-block Modifieds, the biggest payday offered thus far this season at the historic venue.

Tonight’s event serves as the sixth running of the ‘Firecracker 50,’ which has taken place every year since the inaugural in 2019.


Tonight’s Independence Day celebration plays the part of Round No. 4 of the River Valley Builders North Region and Round No. 9 of the Ollie’s Overall Championship.

Saint Catherines, Ontario, Canada’s Mat Williamson sits stop both sets of standings heading into the ‘Firecracker 50.’

Sprakers, N.Y.’s Stewart Friesen sits five markers behind Williamson in the North Region standings, while Walden, N.Y.’s Anthony Perrego is 51 points behind off Williamson’s pace in the Overall Championship.

Tonight’s race is the first race at Fonda Speedway since Saturday, June 15, which each of the last two Saturday affairs falling by the wayside due to rain.


Stewart Friesen enters every ‘big race’ as the heavy favorite at Fonda Speedway. Along with his four career ‘Firecracker 50’ wins, Friesen is the highest active driver on the speedway’s all-time win list and swept both Amsterdam Truck Center Modified features at Fonda on June 15.

Baldwinsville, N.Y.’s Michael Maresca leads the Fonda Speedway Modified standings thus far in 2024, on the strength of two wins this season. Maresca is also a former Fonda Champion in ’20.

Anthony Perrego has been arguably the best performer on the STSS tour in ’24, outside of an uncharacteristic performance at Accord (N.Y.) Speedway in the North Region opener. Perrego leads the NJ Quality Drywall South Region standings and has had his share of success at Fonda Speedway in his career.


Johnstown, N.Y.’s Rocky Warner sits second in Fonda Speedway standings, just three points behind Maresca. The ‘Flying Squirrel’ has long been a threat in STSS races and is in search of the first of his career at his home track.

Covington Township, Pa.’s Alex Yankowski is another driver who is a threat in STSS competition. ‘Kid Rocket’ is the only driver in the field who sits in the top six in the North, South, Overall, and Fonda Speedway standings heading into the ‘Firecracker 50.’

Jack Lehner calls Fonda Speedway home on Saturday nights. Affectionately known as the ‘Ginga Ninja,’ the Saratoga Springs, N.Y., native is a rookie on the North Region tour in search of STSS win No. 1 and a $10,000 top prize.


The STSS Crate 602 Sportsman are on tap for a 25-lap, $2,000-to-win affair, which serves as Round No. 3 of the Madsen Overhead Doors North Region.

The Online Performance Parts Street Stocks go for 20 laps and a $500 top prize for the first time this season at Fonda Speedway.

The ‘Bill Ag Memorial’ Match Races will also take place on Wednesday evening, an event honoring a longtime Fonda Speedway supporter with several cash bonuses and awards up for grabs.


July is jam-packed month for the STSS, with five races remaining in the month. Next up is a trip to Bridgeport Motorsports Park in Swedesboro, N.J. on Sunday, July 7 for the ‘South Jersey Shootout.’ The STSS Modifieds go for a $5,000 top prize in Round No. 6 of the NJ Quality Drywall South Region and Round No. 10 of the Ollie’s Overall Championship.

The North Region continues next Thursday, July 11, at Dundee, N.Y.’s Outlaw Speedway for the ‘Dave Machuga Memorial Outlaw Showdown.’ The STSS Modifieds go for 50 laps and a $7,078 top prize.


Don’t forget to set your Dirt Draft lineups before the night’s first heat race begins.

Visit or download the app to join Dirt Draft and compete against thousands of others for the entire 2024 STSS season. A subscription is just $5.99 a month with plenty of prizes up for grabs in the Dirt Draft Speed Shop.

Following along with the STSS on Dirt Draft throughout the ‘24 season will pay one lucky fan dividends at year-end.

The STSS Dirt Draft Champion receives two tickets to the STSS year-end banquet and will be honored with a custom trophy presented by Dirt Draft.


For the July 3 event, gates open at 4 p.m., with hot laps at 6:30 p.m. and racing at 7:15 p.m.

Grandstand admission is $25 (Adults), $23 (Seniors ages 65 and up) and Kids 11 and under are FREE.

Infield Drive-In Parking is $120 (includes up to four passes) and can be reserved at the following link:

Reserved camping can also be reserved online via the link above.

Pit admission is $45 (Non-Members), $40 (Members), $10 Kids (ages 6-12) and $2 Children (ages 5 and under).


The entire night of racing will be broadcast live on FloRacing ( via the annual subscription.

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook, @ShortTrack_SS on Twitter or @ShortTrackSS on Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by Bob Hilbert Sportswear, FloRacing, American Racer, Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuels, BDR Speed, NJ Quality Drywall, River Valley Builders, Ollie’s, Penske Racing Shocks, Saint Lawrence Radiology, Capitol Custom Trailers & Coaches, Bicknell Racing Products, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Madsen Overhead Doors, Belmont’s Garage, Wegner Automotive, DIG Race Products, ATL, Dirt Draft, Swagger Factory Apparel, F.X. Caprara Car Companies, Algonkin Motel LLC, Beyea Custom Headers, Design for Vision, Sunglass Central, Dirt Track Digest TV, DKM Fabrication, EIBACH, Fastline Performance, Flach Performance Products, Henry’s Headers & Exhaust Systems, JK Signworks, JLR Technologies, Dave Prime Jr. MAC Tools, Schultz Racing Fuel Cells, Superior Remodeling, TV 12 Racing Products, VAHLCO Wheels & Wilwood Disc Brakes.


July 17, 2023 – MATT SHEPPARD – Stewart Friesen – Alex Yankowski – Matt DeLorenzo – Mat Williamson

July 3, 2022 – STEWART FRIESEN – Matt Sheppard – Mat Williamson – Danny Creeden – Rocky Warner

July 4, 2021 – STEWART FRIESEN – Billy Decker – Matt Sheppard – Mat Williamson – Mike Gular

July 5, 2020 – STEWART FRIESEN – Larry Wight – Mike Maresca – Adam McAuliffe – Jessica Friesen

July 3, 2019 – STEWART FRIESEN – Matt Sheppard – Erick Rudolph – Anthony Perrego – Rocky Warner

Back to News

Driver Registration

Bob Hilbert Sportswear
American Racer
Flo Racing
BDR Speed
NJ Quality Drywall
River Valley Builders
St. Lawrence Radiology
Capital Custom Trailers
Bicknell Racing Products
Madsen Overhead Doors
Belmont Garage
Wegner Automotive
Dirt Draft
Swagger Factory Apparel
FX Caprara
Algonkin Motel
Beyea Headers
Design For Vision
Sunglass Central
Dirt Track Digest
DKM Fabrication
Eibach Springs
Flasch Performance
Henrys Exhaust
JK Signworks
Lias Tire
MAC Tools
Schultz Fuel Cells
Superior Remodeling
TV12 Race Product
Vahlco Wheels